Top men's teams to square off tonight at 2009 US Club National Championships

March 12, 2009, 5:43 p.m. (ET)
STEVENS POINT, Wis. - The men's top seed for the playoffs will be determined tonight as Illinois and Wisconsin are set to face off at 8 p.m. at the 2009 U.S. Club National Championships at the Utica Curling Club in Whitesboro, N.Y.

Both teams are 7-1 with the final game of the round robin on tap to determine seeding. Jeff Wright's Illinois team took down North Dakota I's Tom Grzazdzieleski rink, 12-3, this morning while Mike Fraboni's Wisconsin team handled Mark Willmert's team from Minnesota, an 8-4 loss. Illinois, Wisconsin and North Dakota 2's Rick Tangedal rink have clinched playoff spots. Willmert's Minnesota squad and Washington's Doug Kauffman are still in the running for the fourth spot.

In the battle of first-place teams on the women's side, Washington's Gabrielle Coleman took down Massachusetts, 8-4, to improve to 6-1 and took sole possession of the top spot. Matina Heisler's rink from the Cape Cod Curling Club falls to 5-2 which puts them in a three-way tie for second place with the defending champions led by Norma O'Leary from Minnesota 1 and Wisconsin's Shelly Kosal rink. The women finish off the round robin at 8 a.m. Friday.

The semifinals are slated for 8 p.m. Friday followed by the championship finals on Saturday. The men play for gold at 10 a.m. with the women taking the ice at 2 p.m.

Line scores are posted here after each draw:

This is the fifth year that the Club National Championships are being played. This event does not lead to a world championship but is used as a stepping stone to help develop athletes towards future national championships.


Washington (Coleman) 6-1
Massachusetts (Heisler) 5-2
Minnesota I (O'Leary) 5-2
Wisconsin (Kosal) 5-2
Illinois (Lawless) 4-3
Minnesota II (Wapola) 4-3
California (Messier) 2-5
Pennsylvania (Anderson) 2-5
Michigan (Roberts) 1-6
North Dakota (Melland) 1-6

*Illinois (Wright) 7-1
*Wisconsin (Fraboni) 7-1
*North Dakota II (Tangedal) 6-2
Minnesota (Willmert) 4-4
Washington (Kauffman) 4-4
Maryland (Faircloth) 3-5
Michigan (Jorgensen) 3-5
North Dakota I (Grzadzieleski) 2-6
Arizona (Gallagher) 2-6
Connecticut (Hannon) 2-6
*clinched playoff berth

USA Curling is sponsored by Kodiak Technology Group, AIT Worldwide Logistics and Nike.