Tiebreakers underway at 2009 US Senior Men's National Championship

Feb. 17, 2009, 11:14 a.m. (ET)
STEVENS POINT, Wis. (Feb. 14, 2009) - Tiebreaker games are being played this afternoon to square away the playoff berths at the 2009 U.S. Senior Men's National Championship at the Rice Lake (Wis.) Curling Club.

The only team that has secured a berth is the Stuart Graves team from Massachusetts, which earns the No. 1 seed in Pool A after finishing the round robin with a 6-1 record. David Russell (La Crosse, Wis.) and Mark Arnold (St. Paul, Minn.) are currently playing a tiebreaker to determine the No. 2 seed in that division. That's the easy scenario.

In Pool B, five teams tied for first place at the end of the round robin. Paul Pustovar (Hibbing, Minn.) had the best pre-competition shoot-out score and earns a first-round bye for the tiebreakers. Dwayne Jacobson (Junction City, Wis.) and Seppo Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.) are playing a tiebreaker with the winner earning the No. 2 seed. Leland Rich (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Scott Edie (Middletown, Md.) are playing with the winner taking on Pustovar to determine the No. 1 seed for Pool B. That game will be played at 8 tonight.

The semifinals will now take place at 9 a.m. tomorrow followed by the final at 1 p.m.

Live scoring of the 2009 U.S. Senior Men's Nationals can be found online at www.usacurl.org/curlingrocks. Click on the scoreboard link from there.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2009 World Senior Championships April 24-May 3 in Dunedin, New Zealand.


Pool A
Stuart Graves (Massachusetts) 6-1
David Russell (Wisconsin) 5-2
Mark Arnold (Minnesota) 5-2
Jeff Wright (Illinois) 4-3
Philip DeVore (Wisconsin) 4-3
Ken Neidhart (Wisconsin) 2-5
Walter Ehlert (Wisconsin) 1-6
Jim Jerylo Sr. (Minnesota) 1-6

Pool B
Paul Pustovar (Minnesota) 4-2
Seppo Sormunen (Minnesota) 4-2
Dwayne Jacobson (Wisconsin) 4-2
Leland Rich (Alaska) 4-2
Scott Edie (Maryland) 4-2
Dale Gibbs (Minnesota) 1-5
Larry Anderson (Wisconsin) 0-6