Tiebreakers loom at 2009 US Junior Nationals

Feb. 13, 2009, 12:54 p.m. (ET)
STEVENS POINT, Wis. - Tiebreaker games will be played this afternoon to determine the final playoff teams for the 2009 USA Curling Junior National Championships at the Lake Region Curling Club in Devils Lake, N.D.

On the men's side, No. 1 seed Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.) will take on No. 2 seed Aaron Wald (Chisholm, Minn.) in tonight's Page Playoff 1-2 game. On the women's side, No. 1 seed Nina Spatola (McFarland, Wis.) will play No. 2 seed Alexandra Carlson (Wayzata, Minn.).

A tiebreaker game between Wisconsin II's Blake Morton and North Dakota 1's Jerod Roland rink will determine the No. 4 seed at 4 p.m. today. The winner of that game will play Washington's Sean Beighton rink at 8 tonight. On the women's side, three teams tied for fourth place with 4-5 records. A tiebreaker will be played at noon today between Katlyn Beebe's New York rink and Miranda Solem's Minnesota II team. The winner plays Lauren Kirkeby's North Dakota I rink in a second tiebreaker game at 4 p.m. (Kirkeby received the bye based on best shoot-out score since head-to-head couldn't determine a top seed for tiebreaking purposes). The winner of that final tiebreaker moves on at 8 p.m. to play No. 3 seed Miranda Schieber of Wisconsin II.

The winners of the 1-2 playoff games move directly to Saturday's championship final. The losers of the 1-2 games play the winners of the 3-4 playoff games in the semifinals at 8 a.m. Saturday. The men's and women's finals are slated for noon tomorrow.

Live scoring of the 2009 Junior Nationals can be found online at www.usacurl.org/curlingrocks. Click on the scoreboard link from there.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2009 World Junior Championships, March 5-15 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Game scores (8 a.m., men): Washington 7, Massachusetts 6 (extra end); Minnesota I 7, Alaska 2; North Dakota I 10, New Hampshire 3


*Minnesota I (Plys) 8-1
*Minnesota II (Wald) 8-1
*Washington (Beighton) 6-3
Wisconsin II (Morton) 5-4
North Dakota I (Roland) 5-4
Massachusetts (Leichter) 3-6
New Hampshire (Clark) 3-6
North Dakota II (Workin) 2-6
Wisconsin I (Caldwell) 2-6
Alaska (Birklid) 2-7

*Wisconsin I (Spatola) 8-1
*Minnesota I (Carlson) 8-1
*Wisconsin II (Schieber) 6-3
North Dakota I (Kirkeby) 4-5
Minnesota II (Solem) 4-5
New York (Beebe) 4-5
Illinois (Elko) 3-6
Massachusetts (Tucker) 3-6
Alaska (Hufman) 3-6
North Dakota II (Podoll) 2-7
*Clinched playoff spot