Defending champions improve to 4-1 at 2009 US Seniors

Feb. 13, 2009, 2:11 p.m. (ET)
STEVENS POINT, Wis. - David Russell's defending champions won their third straight match to improve to 4-1 in the round robin Friday morning at the 2009 U.S. Senior Men's National Championship at the Rice Lake (Wis.) Curling Club.

Russell (La Crosse, Wis.) and teammates Bill Rhyme (Green Bay, Wis.), Mark Swandby (Madison, Wis.), Dave Carlson (Portage, Wis.) and Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.) scored a single in an extra end to fend off Jeff Wright's team from Illinois after giving up a steal in the final end of regulation. With the win, Russell's team remains in a tie for first place with Stuart Graves (Pembroke, Mass.) and Phil DeVore (Superior, Wis.).

Graves and teammates Paul Sofuolis (Dover, Mass.), Daniel Dacey (Boston), Tony Steiert (Boston) and Pete Rossetti (Framingham, Mass.) shut down Mark Arnold's Minnesota team, 5-4, with a steal of two in the eighth end. The loss drops Arnold, who got off to a fast start in the round robin, to 3-2.

Walter Ehlert's rink picked up its first win of the tournament with a 13-3 defeat of Minnesota's James Jerylo Sr.

After the round robin, the top two teams in each pool advance to the playoffs on Saturday night. Live scoring of the 2009 U.S. Senior Men's Nationals can be found online at Click on the scoreboard link from there.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2009 World Senior Championships April 24-May 3 in Dunedin, New Zealand.

Game scores: Russell 6, Wright 5; DeVore 6, Neidhart 2; Graves 5, Arnold 4; Ehlert 13, Jerylo 3


Pool A
Philip DeVore (Wisconsin) 4-1
Stuart Graves (Massachusetts) 4-1
David Russell (Wisconsin) 4-1
Mark Arnold (Minnesota) 3-2
Jeff Wright (Illinois) 2-3
Walter Ehlert (Wisconsin) 1-4
Jim Jerylo Sr. (Minnesota) 1-4
Ken Neidhart (Wisconsin) 1-4

Pool B
Seppo Sormunen (Minnesota) 3-0
Paul Pustovar (Minnesota) 3-1
Dwayne Jacobson (Wisconsin) 2-1
Leland Rich (Alaska) 2-1
Scott Edie (Maryland) 2-2
Dale Gibbs (Minnesota) 0-3
Larry Anderson (Wisconsin) 0-4