Minnesota's Carlson, Wald remain perfect at 2009 US Junior Nationals

Feb. 12, 2009, 10:27 a.m. (ET)

STEVENS POINT, Wis. (Feb. 11, 2009) - Minnesota's Aaron Wald and Alexandra Carlson rinks remain undefeated as action continues at the 2009 USA Curling Junior National Championships at the Lake Region Curling Club in Devils Lake, N.D.

Carlson (Wayzata, Minn.) and teammates Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.) and Sophie Brorson (Duluth, Minn.) posted their seventh win with an 8-3 victory over Hannah Elko of Illinois this afternoon as the round robin rolls on. The top four teams advance to Friday's Page Playoffs.

Wald's Minnesota II team got the best of Nate Clark of New Hampshire in the late afternoon draw by a score of 7-2. Wald (Chisholm, Minn.) and teammates Josh Bahr (Bemidji, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.) and John Muller (Hibbing, Minn.) picked up their seventh win as well by scoring big ends to knock off Clark's team.

Defending champions Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.) and Nina Spatola (McFarland, Wis.) also posted wins to improve their records to 6-1, respectively. Plys's Minnesota I team handed North Dakota I's Jerod Roland rink a third loss of the round robin with a 9-3 victory. The Plys rink, much like Wald's, scored big ends to build a steep lead early on. Spatola's team jumped out early against Kaye Hufman's rink from Alaska, handing the Fairbanks team a 12-5 loss.

Lauren Kirkeby's North Dakota I team kept its playoff hopes alive by posting a pivotal third win - this time against Wisconsin II's Miranda Schieber rink, 7-5. Minnesota II's Miranda Solem rink also inched closer to a playoff berth with a 13-4 win over Ann Podoll's North Dakota II team.

In other men's action, Wisconsin II's Blake Morton rink improved to 4-4 with a 10-1 win over Alaska's Matt Birklid rink. Brad Caldwell helped his Wisconsin I team to its second win with an 8-2 defeat of Washington's Sean Beighton.

Live scoring of the 2009 Junior Nationals can be found online at www.usacurl.org/curlingrocks. Click on the scoreboard link from there.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2009 World Junior Championships, March 5-15 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Game Scores

12 p.m. women:
North Dakota I 7, Wisconsin II 5; Minnesota I 8, Illinois 3; Minnesota II 13, North Dakota II 4; Wisconsin I 12, Alaska 5
4 p.m. men: Minnesota II 7, New Hampshire 2; Minnesota I 9, North Dakota 3; Wisconsin II 10, Alaska 1; Wisconsin I 8, Washington 2


Minnesota II (Wald) 7-1
Minnesota I (Plys) 6-1
North Dakota I (Roland) 4-3
Washington (Beighton) 4-3
Wisconsin II (Morton) 4-4
Massachusetts (Leichter) 3-3
Alaska (Birklid) 2-5
New Hampshire (Clark) 2-5
Wisconsin I (Caldwell) 3-5
North Dakota II (Workin) 1-5

Minnesota I (Carlson) 7-0
Wisconsin I (Spatola) 6-1
Wisconsin II (Schieber) 5-2
Minnesota II (Solem) 4-3
New York (Beebe) 4-3
North Dakota I (Kirkeby) 3-4
Illinois (Elko) 2-5
Massachusetts (Tucker) 2-5
Alaska (Hufman) 1-6
North Dakota II (Podoll) 1-6