Four teams remain undefeated at 2009 US Juniors

Feb. 10, 2009, 4:30 p.m. (ET)

STEVENS POINT, Wis. (Feb. 9, 2009) - Four teams still have perfect records as action continues at the 2009 USA Curling Junior National Championships hosted by the Lake Region Curling Club in Devils Lake, N.D.

Teams skipped by Chris Plys (Duluth, Minn.), Aaron Wald (Chisholm, Minn.), Alexandra Carlson (Wayzata, Minn.) and Nina Spatola (McFarland, Wis.) remain on the top of the leader board.

In today's action, Wald and teammates Josh Bahr (Bemidji, Minn.), Jared Zezel (Hibbing, Minn.) and John Muller (Hibbing, Minn.) improved to 4-0 with an 8-3 win over North Dakota 1's Jerod Roland rink (2-1). The Plys rink had the morning bye but will be back in action this afternoon. Evan Workin's North Dakota 2 rink picked up its first win with a 7-5 defeat of Matt Birklid of Alaska. Washington's Sean Beighton rink (2-1) kept pace with the leaders with a 5-4 win on the last rock over Wisconsin 2's Blake Morton rink. Alex Leichter led his Massachusetts team to a 7-6 win over Wisconsin 1's Brad Caldwell to improve to 1-2.

On the women's side, Carlson and teammates Tara Peterson (Eagan, Minn.), Tabitha Peterson (Eagan, Minn.) and Sophie Brorson (Duluth, Minn.) handed New York's Katlyn Beebe a lopsided 10-4 defeat. Tied 3-3 after four ends, the Carlson team stole a pivotal three points in the fifth end and never trailed again.

Spatola and teammates Molly Bonner (Virginia, Minn.), Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.) and Anna Plys (Duluth, Minn.) only needed seven ends to dispatch Amanda Tucker's Massachusetts team, 9-2. The defending champions never trailed in this game and used key steals to guide the win.

Wisconsin 2's Miranda Schieber rink improved to 3-1 with a 9-5 win over Hannah Elko of Illinois. In the battle of North Dakota women's squads, Lauren Kirkeby came out on top with a steal in the extra end to upend Ann Podoll's team, 6-5.

Action continues with games at 4 and 8 today. Live scoring of the 2009 Junior Nationals can be found online at Click on the scoreboard link from there.

The winning teams will represent the U.S. at the 2009 World Junior Championships, March 5-15 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Game scores: men: (8 a.m.) North Dakota II 7, Alaska 5; Washington 5, Wisconsin II 4; Minnesota II 8, North Dakota I 3; Massachusetts 7, Wisconsin I 6
12 p.m. game results: women - Wisconsin I 9, Massachusetts 2; Wisconsin II 9, Illinois 5; North Dakota I 6, North Dakota II 5; Minnesota I 10, New York 4


Minnesota II (Wald) 4-0
Minnesota I (Plys) 3-0
New Hampshire (Clark) 2-1
North Dakota I (Roland) 2-1
Washington (Beighton) 2-1
Massachusetts (Leichter) 1-2
North Dakota II (WOrkin) 1-2
Wisconsin I (Caldwell) 1-2
Alaska (Birklid) 0-3
Wisconsin II (Morton) 0-4

Minnesota I (Carlson) 4-0
Wisconsin I (Spatola) 4-0
New York (Beebe) 3-1
Wisconsin II (Schieber) 3-1
Minnesota II (Solem) 2-1
Illinois (Elko) 1-3
Massachusetts (Tucker) 1-3
North Dakota I (Kirkeby) 1-3
Alaska (Hufman) 0-3
North Dakota II (Podoll) 0-4