Women's field set for 2010 U.S. Nationals in Kalamazoo

Dec. 01, 2009, 10:21 a.m. (ET)

(STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - A field of 10 women's teams will compete at the 2010 U.S. National Championships March 6-13 at Wings Stadium in Kalamazoo, Mich. The competing men's teams will be announced following qualifying events in January.

Leading the way in the field is 2009 Nationals runner-up and four-time national champion Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.); 2009 Nationals bronze medalist and three-time national champion Amy Wright (Duluth, Minn.); and Erika Brown (Oakville, Ontario), a two-time U.S. Olympian and five-time U.S. national champion who finished fourth at Nationals last season.

Absent from the list of competing teams is the 2010 U.S. Olympic Team for Women's Curling, skipped by 2003 world champion Debbie McCormick (Rio, Wis.). The team has elected to skip Nationals this season after winning the past four in a row. That means a new team will represent the U.S. at the world championships for the first time since 2005.  The 2010 Ford World Women's Championship will take place March 20-28 in Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada.

The 10 women's teams advanced directly to the National Championships as they were the only 10 to sign up for the national playdowns in a season one year removed from the 2010 U.S. Olympic Team Trials for Curling. Often, a dip in the number of entrants occurs after the Trials season.

The 30 registered men's teams begin qualifying Jan. 5-10 at competitions in three geographical zones:  Mankato, Minn.; Fargo, N.D.; and Laurel, Md. The 2010 Capital One Men's World Championship will take place April 3-11 in Cortina, Italy.

Here is a look at the competing women's field:

Team Brown: Erika Brown (Oakville, Ontario), Nina Spatola (McFarland, Wis.), Ann Swisshelm (Chicago), Laura Hallisey (Medfield, Mass.), Coach Bill Todhunter (Menasha, Wis.)

Team Coleman: Gabrielle Coleman (Mountain View, Calif.), Ann Drummie (Washington, D.C.), JoDee Dike-Johnson (Fremont, Calif.), Karen Officer (Los Altos, Calif.)

Team Hambley: Lysa Hambley (Lynnwood, Wash.), Em Good (Seattle), Beth Coffin (Redmond, Wash.), Cynthia Eng-Dinsel (Bothell, Wash.), Sara Skulec (Bothell, Wash.)

Team Hamilton: Becca Hamilton (McFarland, Wis.), Karlie Koenig (Oconomowoc, Wis.), Jenna Haag (Milton, Wis.), Grace Gabower (Janesville, Wis.), Coach Neil Doese (Menomonee Falls, Wis.)

Team Heisler: Matina Heisler (Falmouth, Mass.), Elizabeth Abeltin (Falmouth, Mass.), Marinna Martini (Falmouth, Mass.), Wendy Scholes (North Falmouth, Mass.), Barbara Thomson (South Weymouth, Mass.)

Team Horn: Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio), Laurel Maurer (Sagamore Hills, Ohio), Emilia Juocys (Rochester Hills, Mich.), Courtney Schmidt (Gates Mills, Ohio)

Team Lank: Patti Lank (Lewiston, N.Y.), Caitlin Maroldo (Rochester, N.Y.), Jessica Schultz (Richfield, Minn.), Aileen Sormunen (Duluth, Minn.)

Team Walker: Monica Walker (Boston), Ashley Lawreck (Quincy, Mass.), Elizabeth Williams (New York Mills, N.Y.), Rachel Ryan (East Syracuse, N.Y.)

Team Wapola: Kimberly Wapola (Mahtomedi, Minn.), Brigid Ellig (Minnetonka, Minn.), Carl Strojny (St. Paul, Minn.), Connie Kupferschmidt (St. Paul, Minn.)

Team Wright: Amy Wright (Duluth, Minn.), Courtney George (Duluth, Minn.), Jordan Moulton (Minneapolis, Minn.), Patricia Luke (Duluth, Minn.)

USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, bitRail and Nike and is partnered with CurlingZone.com.