CURLING: 2008 World Senior Championships begin Saturday in Finland

March 06, 2008, 1 a.m. (ET)
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 6, 2008 USA teams ready for 2008 World Senior Championships (STEVENS POINT, Wis.) - The 2008 World Senior Championships kick off Saturday in Vierumaki, Finland. David Russell (La Crosse, Wis.) and teammates Bill Rhyme (Green Bay, Wis.), Mark Swandby (Madison, Wis.), Dave Carlson (Portage, Wis.) and Mike Fraboni (McFarland, Wis.) will represent the U.S. after winning the U.S. senior title in January. The women's team representing the U.S. will be Pam Oleinik (Brookfield, Wis.), Laurie Rahn (Lake Forest, Ill.), Susan Curtis (Rogers, Ark.), Jo Ann Matthews (New Berlin, Wis.) and Donna Purkey (Greenwich, Conn.) who last year won bronze at the 2007 World Seniors in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Ten women's teams make up the field this year including the defending champions from Sweden skipped by Ingrid Meldahl. The U.S. also will compete against Canada, Finland, England, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Scotland and Switzerland. Round robin play for the women gets underway at 3:30 p.m. Saturday (local time) against Canada's Diane Foster rink. On the men's side, there will be two pools of nine teams each. The U.S. will compete in the blue pool along with Scotland, Finland, New Zealand, England, Ireland, Norway, Italy and Iceland. The red pool features Canada, Sweden, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, Wales, Denmark, Russia and Estonia. The Scots are the defending men's champions. The U.S. men open up round robin action at 8:30 a.m. Saturday (local time) against England. Russell, Rhyme, Swandby and Carlson won silver at the 2005 World Seniors and Swandby played in last year's event, placing fourth with skip Geoff Goodland. This is the first appearance for Fraboni, the 2002 U.S. men's champion and Worlds semifinalist. Live scoring can be found at Since the World Senior Championships were created in 2002, the U.S. men have won four silver medals (2006, 2005, 2004, 2003) and one gold medal (2002) while the women have won three bronze (2007, 2004, 2002). USA Curling is sponsored by AIT Worldwide Logistics, AmerAust Technologies and Nike. (30) For more information: Terry Kolesar, USA Curling,, 715-344-1199, Ext. 202, or 608-338-9900 (cell).