USA Curling

 Position:    Alternate
 Teammates:    Jeff Wright, Russ Armstrong, Russ Brown, Nils Johansson
 Delivers:    Right-handed
 Age:    67
 Hometown:    Winnetka, Ill.
 Occupation:    Insurance broker
 Education:    Business administration degree from Madison Area Technical College
 Family:    Married to Holly; two children, Charlie & Audrey
 Year started curling:    1961
 Club:    Chicago

Curling Highlights:

  • U.S. Senior Nationals: 2014 (champion), 2007 (champion)
  • World Senior Championships: 2014 (4th), 2007 (4th)
  • U.S. Men's Nationals: 1998 1995, 1992, 1991, 1985 (champion)
  • World Championships: 1985 (semifinals)
  • U.S. Mixed National Championship: 1998, 1996 (champion), 1991 (semifinals), 1987 (champion)
  • U.S. Senior Men's Bonspiel: 2004 (champion)

Most memorable curling events:

  • Spring 1985, playing in the last "Silver Broom" (Men's World Championship) in Kelvin Hall, Glasgow, Scotland, where we tied for first place in the round robin making the semifinals.
  • Fall 1985, playing in the First Presidential Cup (runner-up), the precursor to Olympic curling in Lausanne, Switzerland, where Juan Samaranch threw out the first stone.
  • Winning two Mixed Nationals with the same very good friends.

Introduction to curling:
My parents were very active Madison CC curlers. Curling was a varsity letter sport at my high school and that's when I got hooked. During college I played for a season on my dad's round robin team and we may still hold the Madison club record going 16-0 and finished runner-up in the club championship in 1986.

Additional information:

I believe in goals just because you feel so damn good when obtained. I have climbed a mountain (Longs Peak, CO, 14,255 feet); scuba-dived in Thailand, Belize and Hawaii; and extensively traveled in the UK, Scotland and Europe. On the goal of winning a world championship, wait until next year.

Other sports:
I am a road bike rider enjoying organized rides of up to 100 miles and have yet to experience a big crash. I also play an erratic game of gold. Besides the local health club, I train in the winter by lugging hockey equipment and chauffeuring my son who plays travel hockey.

Hobbies:

I periodically devour books, enjoy being outdoors and hanging out with family at our cottage in northern Wisconsin.