Pam Cavers

USA Curling

Position Vice skip
Teammates Norma O'Leary, Mary Johnson, Patti Luke
Delivers Right-handed
Born March 13, 1959, in Virginia, Minn.
Hometown Duluth, Minn.
Occupation Title processor, Krenzen Auto Mall
Family Single
Year started curling 1979
Height 5 foot, 3 inchs
CURLING HIGHLIGHTS
  • U.S. Club National Championships: 2009 (champion), 2008 (champion), 2007 (semifinalist), 2006 (runner-up), 2005 (runner-up)
  • U.S. National Championships: 2003 (semifinalist), 2001 (semifinalist)
  • U.S. Mixed National Championship: 2010, 2007
  • U.S. Mixed Doubles National Championship: 2011
  • Minnesota State Women's Championship: 2012 (runner-up), 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2003, 2001 (champion each year); 2010, 2002 (runner-up),1998, 1994, 1992, 1988, 1987, 1986
  • Minnesota State Olympic Qualifier: 1987 (third)
  • Olympic Qualifier: 1998 
  • Minnesota State Mixed Championship: 2010 (champion), 2008, 2007 (champion), 1999 (runner-up)
  • Wisconsin State Mixed Championship: 1995 (3rd)
  • Attended first-ever Women's Olympic Training Camp in Winnipeg in 1987.
  • Voted All-Star lead at 2010 U.S. Mixed Championship 

About Pam Cavers:

Curls out of: Duluth (Minn.) Curling Club

Curling start: "I had never heard of curling until my boyfriend told me he was going to Junior Nationals in 1977. I watched him curl for a couple of years then I started curling, too."

What she enjoys most about curling: "The competitive nature is so strong yet the nature of true sportsmanship is always there. I feel so lucky to have made so many friends from all over the world. There are not many activities that allow you to meet such a wide variety of people and renew the friendships year after year."

Hobbies: "I love baseball. I was the bookkeeper for a professional team for six years. I spent 20 years as a bowler. For one year I was bowling three nights a week and curling three nights plus bonspiels. That was the last year I bowled -- curling was taking up too much time! I also enjoy downhill skiing, camping, reading and playing the piano and saxophone. I love cats (I have two)."

Travel: "I have been in 41 of the 50 states. I love to travel and don't mind traveling alone. I would love to see Australia, Ireland and Italy. I have been to Mexico and, of course, several places in Canada. There is also a town in Scotland called 'Cavers,' which I would like to visit some day." 

In her own words: "Cherish your time with family and friends. They are more important than anything else can ever be."