Benn Fraker Moves on to Semis; Parsons Out

Aug. 11, 2008, 6:26 p.m. (ET)

Beijing, China- Mixed results came out of the first day of Olympic competition at the Shunyi Olympic Canoeing Park.

Benn Fraker (Peachtree City, Georgia) shook off an early penalty in his first run to come back with a faster and totally clean run to finish 10th in C-1 and continue his quest for an Olympic medal.

Fraker, after reviewing his performance with coach Cathy Hearn, maintained his composure with a nearly flawless performance in front of a great crowd including screaming Fraker family members.

Fraker finished with a combined time of 179.44 for the day. This time will not apply to tomorrow's competition for the field of 12.

Fraker will compete in the C-1 semifinal scheduled for tomorrow at 15:00.

Unfortunately, Scott Parsons (Bethesda, Maryland) missed a gate late in his second run and incurred a 50 second penalty which eliminated him from the semifinals. His combined time was 220.83 sec.

This was Parsons second Olympics, having also competed in Athens.


Mens C1 Heats: Combined times of first and second runs
 1.Michal Martikan SLK 170.15
 2.Jan Benzien GER 170.50
 3.David Florence GBR 171.63
 4.Stanislav Jezek CZE 172.09
 5.Ander Elosegui ESP 172.47
 6.Tony Estanguet FRA 176.08
 7.Robin Bell AUS 176.45
 8.Christos Tsakmakis GRE 177.54
 9.Alexander Lipatov RUS 178.16
 10.Benn Fraker USA 179.44
 11.Liming Feng CHN 181.99
 12.Krzystof Bieryt POL 183.29
 13.James Cartwright CAN 184.63 DNQ
 14.Takuya Haneda JPN 186.32 DNQ
 15.Emir Mujcinovic CRO 189.31 DNQ
 16.Siboniso Cele RSA 262.93 DNQ

ens K1 Heats: Combined times of first and second runs
 1.Peter Kauzer SLO 166.49
 2.Fabien Lafevre FRA 168.06
 3.Danile Molmenti ITA 168.59
 4.Alexander Grimm GER 169.26
 5.Dariuzs Popelia POL 171.02
 6.Helmut Oblinger AUT 171.75
 7.Vavrinec Hradilek CZE 172.02
 8.Benjamin Boukpeti TOG 172.26
 9.Cambpell Walsh GBR 172.44
 10.Warwick Draper AUS 172.58
 11.Peter Cibak SLK 172.95
 12.Guillermo Diez Canedo ESP 173.02
 13.David Ford CAN 174.84
 14.Robert Bouten NED 175.16
 15.Eoin Rheinisch IRL 176.33
 16. Pablo McCandless CHI 176.64 DNQ
 17. Kurt Michael SUI 178.56 DNQ
 18. Kazuki Yazawa JPN 189.87 DNQ
 19. Atanas Nokolowski FYRM 181.91 DNQ
 20. Scott Parsons USA 220.83 DNQ
 21. Fuxue Ding CHN 228.39 DNQ