USA Boxing Foundation Names Scholarship Recipients for 2008/2009 School Year

Feb. 02, 2009, 12:07 p.m. (ET)

The USA Boxing Foundation awarded a total of $32,000 from the Thomas "Sarge" Johnson Scholarship Fund to 22 deserving college students.  Recipients include:

Luis Arias, Marquette University, Business Management
Caroline Barry, College of Management and Technology - Wladen, Masters in Business
Tahree Carroll, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Respiratory Care
Arturo Crespin, New Mexico State University, Undecided
Tiaryn Daniels, Brevard Community College, Sports Medicine
Tommy Duquette, MassBay Community College, Undecided
Donna Gallardo, Milwaukee Area Technical College, Electrical Engineering
Andre Henry, St. Francis College, Pre Med
Brittany Inkrote, York College, Criminal Justice
Jack Maine, Slippery Rock University, Elementary Education, Special Education
Luis Mora, California State University, Los Angeles, Sociology
Willie Padilla, Western Wyoming Community College, Secondary Education
Kevin Pearson, University of Florida, Family, Youth, and Community Sciences
Joseph Radunzel, Marquette University, Accounting
Tracy Rollins, Roosevelt University, Undecided
Jose Saenz, Rockhurst University, Accounting/CPA
Michael Schreckenjost, University of Pittsburgh, Administration of Justice and Kinesiology
Joshua Stone, University of Maryland, Architecture
Samuel Suska, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Health and Physical Educaiton
Herman Taylor, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, Business
Shawn Weyer, North Dakota State University, Business and Certification for Massage and Chiropractor
Christian Williford, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Secondary Education

Of the 23 recipients, 12 are receiving the scholarship for the first time, while the remaining 11 are continuing with the program.  The recipients represent 16 different LBCs with Allegheny Mountain being the most represented, having three students.

Scholarships are open to USA Boxing Members who have three consecutive years of membership.  For more information, contact Dale Sprowls at (719) 866-2315 or