Rohbock Wins First Women's Bobsled Team Trials Competition; Hays Triumphant in First Men's Bobsled Trials

Oct. 22, 2008, 10:52 a.m. (ET)
Contact: Amanda Bird, USBSF Marketing & Communications Manager

(518) 523-1842, ext 106,

For Immediate Release

October 12, 2008

Rohbock Wins First Women's Bobsled Team Trials Competition; Hays Triumphant in First Men's Bobsled Trials

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. -Fourteen sleds descended the combined track at the Olympic Sports Complex in Lake Placid, N.Y. today for women's and men's two-man bobsled U.S. team trials.  Shauna Rohbock (Park City, Utah) took her first step towards being named as USA I today by winning the first women's bobsled competition, while Todd Hays (Del Rio, Texas) made a statement by winning the men's two-man race by over one second.

The winner of the first women's bobsled team trials competition was determined by the sled with the lowest combined time in four heats held over two days.  Rohbock entered this morning's competition with a 0.93 second advantage, and extended her lead today to win by over three seconds with a four-heat combined time of 3:58.88.

"I am definitely happy with the way the past two days have gone," said Rohbock.  "I know I can't get complacent, because there are people out there as good or better than I am, and that really drives me."

Rohbock teamed with 2008 Rookie of the Year Elana Meyers (Douglasville, Ga.) for push times of 5.71 and 5.72 seconds.  Rohbock slid to the finish with times of 59.62 and 59.84 for a second day total of 1:59.46.

Moving up a position from yesterday to claim second was driver Erin Pac (Farmington, Conn.), who finished today with a four-heat total of 4:00.68.  Pac teamed with Michelle Rzepka (Novi, Mich.) for the fastest push times of the competition, a 5.63 and 5.58.  The duo crossed the finish line with times of 59.88 and 1:00.30 to move them into second.

Jamia Jackson (Lake City, Fla.) slid into third today with a four-heat combined time of 4:02.03.  Jackson teamed with Ingrid Marcum (Elmhurst, Ill.) in today's first heat for a push time of 5.73 seconds and a finish time of 1:00.35.  Jackson pushed an identical 5.73 second start in the second heat with push athlete Jazmine Fenlator(Wayne, N.J.) for a finish time of 1:01.33. 

Men's two-man bobsled team trials began today with a two-heat race.  The roster included three-time Olympian Todd Hays (Del Rio, Texas), who came out of retirement on a quest for Olympic gold and is making his comeback in the 2008-09 season. 

Hays convincingly won the first race of two-man bobsled team trials today with a total time of 1:55.60.  Teamed with Alex Sprague (Indianapolis, Ind.), Hays pushed times of 5.16 and 5.17 for finish times of 57.72 and 57.88.

Steven Holcomb (Park City, Utah) has a bye onto the World Cup team for the 2008-09 season after finishing third in the combined world ranking last year.  Despite already being named to the team, Holcomb raced today.

"This is a good opportunity to practice racing," said Holcomb.  "It also gets the push athletes motivated.  This is a competitive year, especially with Todd Hays coming back.  It makes me a better driver, because it pushes me."

Holcomb teamed with Justin Olsen (San Antonio, Texas) in the first heat for a push time of 5.17 seconds and a finish time of 58.11 seconds.  Teamed with Curt Tomasevicz (Lincoln, Neb.) in the second heat, Holcomb pushed a 5.25 and slid to the finish in 58.54 seconds for a combined time of 1:56.65.

In third was John Napier (Lake Placid, N.Y.) and Jamie Moriarty (Winnetka, Ill.) with a total time 1:57.21.  Napier and Moriarty pushed times of 5.36 and 5.37 for finish times of 58.49 and 58.72.

For more information, please contact USBSF Marketing & Communications Manager, Amanda Bird, at (518) 523-1842, ext. 106, or at


Women's Bobsled Heats 2 & 3:

1. Shauna Rohbock and Valerie Fleming/Elana Meyers 3:58.88 (59.68, 59.74, 59.62, 59.84); 2. Erin Pac and Elana Meyers/Michelle Rzepka 4:00.68 (1:00.21, 1:00.29, 59.88, 1:00.30); 3. Jamia Jackson and Bethany Hart/Ingrid Marcum/Jazmine Fenlator 4:02.03 (1:00.20, 1:00.15, 1:00.35, 1:01.33); 4. Bree Schaaf and Emily Azevedo 4:04.04 (1:00.92, 1:01.08, 1:00.59, 1:01.45); 5. Phoebe Burns and Michelle Rzepka/Bethany Hart 4:04.36 (1:00.99, 1:01.11, 1:00.53, 1:01.73);

Men's Bobsled Finals #1:

1. Todd Hays and Alex Sprague 1:55.60 (57.72, 57.88); 2. Steven Holcomb and Justin Olsen/Curt Tomasevicz 1:56.65 (58.11, 58.54); 3. John Napier and Jamie Moriarty 1:57.21 (58.49, 58.72); 4. Grayson Fertig and Cory Butner 1:57.57 (58.60, 58.97); 5. Mike Kohn and Jacob Miller 1:57.96 (58.64, 59.32); 6. Ethan Albrecht-Carrie and Jason Halliburton 1:58.71 (59.07, 59.64); 7. Michael Bradley and Jim Carriel 1:58.77 (59.08, 59.69); 8. Mat Anderson and Hoy Thurman 2:01.29 (1:00.34, 1:00.95); 9. Ivan Radcliff and Ben Fogel (DNF);

About the U.S. Bobsled and Skeleton Federation

The United States Bobsled and Skeleton Federation, based in Lake Placid, N.Y., is the national governing body for the sports of bobsled and skeleton in the United States. The USBSF would like to thank its sponsors, suppliers and contributors for their support: Allianz Life, Vilter Manufacturing, CW-X, KBC Helmets and ULU Boots. The USBSF would also like to thank the following sponsors and suppliers for their partner, the Bo-Dyn Bobsled Project:  Whelen Engineering, PPG, Columbia Sportswear, JEGS Automotive, Lucas Oil, Mac Tools and Racing Electronics.  For more information, please visit the USBSF website at