USA Badminton Teams Compete Gamely at 2012 Thomas and Uber Cup Finals in Wuhan, China

May 29, 2012, 11:58 a.m. (ET)

For Immediate Release
May 27, 2012

USA Badminton Teams Compete Gamely at 2012 Thomas and Uber Cup Finals in Wuhan, China

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The USA Badminton Men’s and Women’s Teams competed gamely at the 2012 Thomas and Uber Cup Finals, May 20-27 in Wuhan, China, but failed to advance past pool play.  In the end, the host country won the team competitions keeping both the Thomas and Uber Cups in China.  Korea place second in both.

USA Badminton was represented in the 2012 Thomas and Uber Cup Finals in Wuhan, China by the same athletes that qualified the U.S. for the event.  Representing the U.S. were the following:

The USA Badminton Uber Cup Team Roster:

Eva Lee (Orange, Calif.)
Paula Lynn Obanana (Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn./Mountain View, Calif.)
Jamie Subandhi (Westminster, Calif.)
Iris Wang (Arcadia, Calif.)
Rena Wang (Arcadia, Calif.)
Head Coach:  Zi Min Cai (Orange, Calif.)

The USA Badminton Thomas Cup Team Roster:

Howard Bach (San Francisco, Calif./Anaheim, Calif.)
Phillip Chew (Orange, Calif.)
Tony Gunawan (West Covina, Calif.)
Nicholas Jinadasa (Long Beach, Calif.)
Sattawat Pongnairat (Orange, Calif.)
Howard Shu (Anaheim, Calif.)
Coach/Player:  Tony Gunawan (West Covina, Calif.)
Team Manager/Player:  Howard Bach (San Francisco, Calif./Aaheim, Calif.)

For complete tournament results, please visit:

The Thomas and Uber Cup are often referred to as the Men’s and Women’s World Team Championships respectively.  In this event one team (country) competes against another team (country) in three singles matches and two doubles matches to determine the winning team.  The Thomas Cup, first staged in 1948-1949, was the Badminton World Federation’s first major international tournament and originally took place every three years.  In 1982 the tournament changed to a biennial event.  The Thomas Cup was named for Sir George Thomas, the President of the World Body governing badminton who first conceived the idea of having a team championship event.  Thomas, a legendary player having won 21 All England titles, and administrator of the sport donated the original trophy.

The Uber Cup started in 1956-1957 and, similar to the men’s competition, took place every three years.  Since 1984 though, the event has been held in conjunction with the Thomas Cup every two years.  The Uber Cup is named in honor of Betty Uber, a British badminton star who in 1950 started the campaign for a women’s team championship competition.  Uber made the draw and competed in the inaugural Uber Cup in 1956-1957 at Lytham St. Annes in Lancashire, England.  Like Thomas, Uber donated the original trophy for the event.

For more information, please contact Cecil Bleiker, NGB Media Services Director for USA Badminton at 719-330-2062.  This press release is also available on the USOC’s media specific website at PRESSBOX.TEAMUSA.ORG.