Seniors Tussle In Tucson!

March 22, 2010, 1:51 p.m. (ET)

Tucson, Arizona, a metropolis of nearly one million, was the site for the 2010 U.S. Senior National Badminton Championships March 17-20.  Hosts were the Tucson Badminton Club and Tucson Sports, a division of the Metropolitan Tucson Convention and Visitor Bureau.  One hundred five players from twenty-one states took to the nine courts at the University of Arizona Student Recreation Center for four days of very competitive play.  When the shuttle flying ceased, winners of titles in eleven age groups had been determined. 

Superb play prevailed in all the age groups, and multiple gold and silver medal winners included Marc Padre, Solaiman Jonatan, Imre Bereknyei, Dudley Chen, Robin Lyons, Curt Dommeyer, Bob Cook, Theodora Hashimoto, Xinhua (Mary) Yuan, Mary Ann Bowles, Sue Dommeyer, Joyce Jones, Clara Gamble, and Virginia Smith. 

A festive fiesta dinner was held on Friday evening at the host Doubletree Hotel at Reid Park.  Dan Cloppas, USA Badminton's CEO/Secretary General, welcomed all in attendance and introduced Vince Trinidad of Tucson Sports who thanked those attending.  He presented a local mariachi band and dancers who performed several times during the evening.  USA Badminton Board member Michael Halchak welcomed guests, and Board member Fred Coleman updated attendees on Board actions and future plans.

Awards were presented, the Charles & Ada Wurst Sportsmanship trophy going to Curt Dommeyer, and the Ray Scott Award to Lee Calvert, both players from the Manhattan Beach Badminton Club.  Dan Cloppas and Peggy Savosik, USAB Financial Services, were recognized for their service to the NGB, and Virginia Smith of St. Louis was recognized for her 88th birthday, the Saturday finals being played in her honor as declared by Dan Cloppas. 

Many thanks to the Tucson Badminton Club and all their volunteers for the superb hospitality, umpiring services, and court maintenance, especially Margot Hurst, Lorna Hunter, and Don Fry.  Thanks to tournament officials Bob Cook, Dave Carton, Terry Lira, Dudley Chen, and Pedro Garcia who kept the courts filled and matches running on time.  Appreciation also to Michael Halchak; Vince Trinidad and Tucson Sports; Fred Coleman; Dan Cloppas, Peggy Savosik, and Sarah Gladstone of the USAB; and the Yonex Corporation, as well as the Hungry Fox Restaurant, Chick-fil-A, the Doubletree Hotel, and the Racquet Shack. 

CLICK HERE for full 2010 U.S. Senior Nationals Results

CLICK HERE to go to the 2010 U.S. Senior Nationals Photo Gallery

The 2011 U.S. Senior Nationals are scheduled March 23-26 in Raleigh-Durham, NC.  Mark your calendar and plan to be there!