BWF Annual General Meeting 2009 - Kang retains seat, Paisan is deputy

May 13, 2009, 11:10 a.m. (ET)

  The Badminton World Federation (BWF) annual general meeting in Guangzhou, China today re-elected Dr Kang Young Joong as its president for a new four-year term

Attended by 131 Member Associations, Kang, from Korea, polled 162 votes to defeat challenger Dato' Seri Andrew Kam Tai Yeow of Malaysia who garnered 70 votes.

 "For the past four years only my passion and love for the sport has sustained me and I would like to record my gratitude to the membership for giving me the mandate to serve them for another four years," said Kang who will serve for the 2009-2013 term.

"The message from the membership is clear and my colleagues and I will continue our efforts to promote, improve and elevate badminton to greater heights.

"Development is one area that we want to focus on and we need to look at how to serve the developing and yet to be developed nations better."

The BWF membership also gave a resounding support to Paisan Rangsikitpho who clinched the No 2 post at the expense of Australia's Robin Bryant, a former Vice President of the Federation.

Gregory Verpoorten of Belgium was elected as Vice President (Olympic Relations) while, under the new BWF constitution, another five Vice Presidents were each elected from the five continents of Africa, Asia, Europe, Pan Am and Oceania.

They are Larry Keys (Badminton Africa Confederation), Vishwa Kumar Verma (Badminton Asia Confederation), Torsten Berg (Badminton Europe), Gustavo Salazar (Pan Am) and Nigel Skelt (Badminton Oceania).

Other members of Council elected were Li Lingwei (China), Justian Suhandinata (Indonesia), Mehdi Karbasian (Iran), Sergey Shakhray (Russia), Etienne Thobois (France), Nora Perry (England), Surasak Songvarakulpan (Thailand), Jun Yan Wu (Chinese Taipei), Wayne Somers (Canada), David Cabello (Spain), Junichiro Yamada (Japan), Lawrence Chew (Switzerland), Peter Gacheru (Kenya), Lim Teong Kiat (Malaysia), Peter Tarcala (Slovakia), Raj Gaya (Mauritius), Ranjit de Silva (Sri Lanka).



Dr Kang Young Joong (Korea) 162 votes
Dato' Seri Andrew Kam Tai Yeow (Malaysia) 70 votes

Deputy President:

Paisan Rangsikitpho (USA) 167 votes
Robin Bryant (Australia) 59 votes

Vice President (Olympic Relations)

Gregory Verpoorten (Belgium) 166 votes
Leon Douglas (Scotland) 63 votes


Li Lingwei (China) 225, Justian Suhandinata (Indonesia) 221, Mehdi Karbasian (Iran) 218, Sergey Shakhray (Russia) 217, Etienne Thobois (France) 215, Nora Perry (England) 213,Surasak Songvarakulpan (Thailand) 211, Jun Yan Wu (Chinese Taipei) 207, Wayne Somers (Canada) 203, David Cabello (Spain), Junichiro Yamada (Japan) 188, Peter Gacheru (Kenya) 181, Lawrence Chew (Switzerland) 181, Lim Teong Kiat (Malaysia) 180, Peter Tarcala (Slovakia) 176, Raj Gaya (Mauritius) 161, Ranjit de Silva (Sri Lanka) 160.