Seven athletes win national handcycling titles in Chattanooga

By Katie Branham | May 26, 2014, 9:41 p.m. (ET)
Retired U.S. Army Staff Sergeant Freddie De Los Santos won the H5 handcycling criterium national title in front of Memorial Day crowds in Chattanooga.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Seven athletes won the first Para-cycling national titles of the year at the U.S. Paralympics Cycling time trial and handcycling criterium national championships hosted in conjunction with the USA Cycling Professional Championships May 24 and 26 in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

In the men’s H3 race, David Randall (Mansfield, Ohio), Matthew Updike (Denver, Colorado) and Will Lachenauer (Reno, Nevada) crossed the finish line with only two seconds separating the trio. Randall took the win, while Updike and Lachenauer claimed silver and bronze respectively.

Will Groulx (Portand, Oregon) won the H2 criterium national title, after winning Friday’s time trial as well. Freddie De Los Santos (Hopewell Junction, New York) won the national title in the men’s H5 class, while Carlos Moleda (Bluffton, South Carolina) took top honors in the H4 criterium.

Only two months removed from winning two Nordic skiing medals at the Sochi Paralympic Winter Games, Oksana Masters (Louisville, Kentucky) won her first national title on the roads as she won the women’s H5 class. Masters also won Friday’s time trial as well.

Thea Rosa (Cool, California) and Muffy Davis (Salt Lake City, Utah) both turned in dominating performances in their respective classes as Rosa won both the H4 criterium and time trial, while Duffy swept the H3 class.

“This was the biggest handcycle field ever for the criterium championships, and half of the field was made up of military veterans, including Freddie De Los Santos, who won in front of large Memorial Day crowds in Chattanooga,” said Ian Lawless, high performance director U.S. Paralympics cycling.

During Friday’s time trials, the following athletes also won their respective divisions: Steven Peace (San Diego, California, T2); Dan Cnossen (Winter Park, Colorado, H5); Tom Davis (Fremont, Indiana, H 4); Will Lachenauer (Reno, Nevada, H3); Mark Gyulafia (Westwood, Kansas, C5); Scott Martin (Oceanside, California, C4); Joe Berenyi (Oswego, Illinois, C3); Billy Lister (Huntington Beach, California, C2); Todd Key (Scottsdale, Arizona, C1); Beth Hope (Santee, California, T2); Clark Rachfall (Annapolis, Maryland, BVI stoker) and Dave Swanson (Tucson, Arizona, BVI pilot); Greta Neimanas (Colorado Springs, Colorado, C5); Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kansas, C4); Jamie Whitmore(Mount Aukum, California, C3) and Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colorado, C2); Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, New York, BVI stoker) and Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Michigan, BVI pilot).

Athletes’ performances in the time trial event help to determine who will represent Team USA at the 2014 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Greenville, South Carolina in August.

The next event for Team USA’s cyclists will be the U.S. Paralympics Road Cycling National Championships held in conjunction with the USA Cycling Amateur Nationals in Madison, Wisconsin, July 2-6.

For more information and full results of the USA Professional Championships, visit