Tatyana McFadden nominated for IPC Athlete of the Month

By International Paralympic Committee | May 02, 2014, 12 p.m. (ET)
Tatyana McFadden
Tatyana McFadden won two marathons in April 2014, including her second Boston Marathon. 

Following wins at the London and Boston Marathons, Tatyana McFadden has made the shortlist for April's Athlete of the Month award, the International Paralympic Committee announced today. The public can now vote for the winner at Paralympic.org until 6 a.m. ET on May 9. No registration is required.

Just 32 days after winning a silver medal in cross-country skiing at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Winter Games, McFadden r aced to victory in the London Marathon women's wheelchair race in a course-record time of 1:45.12. A week later, she won her second straight Boston Marathon in a time of 1:35.06 on her 25th birthday.

The month's nominees also include:

Ali Jawad (Great Britain): He won gold in the men's -59kg category at the IPC Powerlifting World Championships in Dubai, UAE, where he recorded a world-record lift of 190kg.

Sherif Othman (Egypt): The double Paralympic champion broke his own world record four times on the way to winning gold in the men's -54kg competition at the IPC Powerlifting World Championships. His best lift of 205kg was 24kg better than his previous record set just a year prior.

Sarah Storey (Great Britain): She won gold in both the women's 3km pursuit C5 and scratch race C1-5 at the UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico. She set a new world record of 3:32.050 in the pursuit and also won bronze in the 500m time trial C5 event.

Ingrid Thunem (Norway): The S1 swimmer broke four world records at the 28th International Deutsche Maeisterschaft competition in Berlin, Germany, setting new top times in the women's 50m freestyle, 100m freestyle, 100m backstroke and 150m individual medley.

The public now has until 6 a.m. ET on May 9 to vote for which team it thought had the best performance last month. The nominations are compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees and International Federations.