Individual pursuit titles awarded at U.S. Paralympics Track Cycling National Championships

By Katie Branham | Nov. 23, 2013, 1:33 a.m. (ET)

CARSON, Calif. -  A mix of veterans and newcomers won national titles on the first day of the 2013 U.S. Paralympic Track Cycling National Championships held in conjunction with the LA Grand Prix.

Jeffrey “Scott” Martin (Oceanside, Calif.) was one of the newcomers who won his first track cycling national title to go along with his win at the road championships earlier this year. Martin handily won his qualifying and final race in the men’s C4 4k individual pursuit. Martin clocked the fastest time of the day out of all classifications in the 4k distance in a time of 4:47.351.

“It is awesome,” Martin said. “I’ve only had a bronze in track before, but I worked really hard and thanks to the coaching of Andy [Sparks], I was able to get where am now, and that brings me one step closer to my goal.”

Jason Kimball (Spring Lake, N.C.) also won his first track cycling title in dominating fashion as he beat out Jason Paxton (Cibolo, Texas) for the men’s C3 title by three and a half seconds. Kimball crossed the line for the 3k distance in 4:05.409.  

Other winners included William Lister (Huntington Beach, Calif.) who won the national title in the C2 in 5:31.617, while Matt Bigos (Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.) overtook Todd Key (Scottsdale, Ariz.) in the men’s C1 race to win in 4:31.395. In the men’s C5 race, Christopher Murphy (Alta Loma, Calif.) took the win in 5:03.716, and in the men's tandem the team of Lance Footer (Taylors, S.C.) and David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.) won in 4:46.144.

On the women’s side, Paralympic Games medalist Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) went two-for-two in the qualifying and in the final to win the women’s C5 individual 3k pursuit.  Schuble created a slight lead on Greta Neimanas (Asheville, N.C.) midway through the race and held her lead to clock a time of 4:04.614.

In the morning session, Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, Calif.) won her first track cycling title in a national record time of 4:40.895 in the women’s C3 division. In the tandem race, Karissa Whitsell and pilot Jennifer Triplett of Colorado Springs, Colo. caught the team of Trina Jacobson and pilot Kara Vatthauer (San Diego, Calif.) to win the national title. Whitsell and Triplett crossed the line in 3:54:040.

Competition runs through Sunday and can be viewed live online at

Full results of today’s competition are available at  

For more information, please contact Katie Branham, U.S. Paralympics, at 719-237-9407 or