Tatyana McFadden and Raymond Martin named USOC Athletes of the Month for July 2013

By U.S. Olympic Committee | Aug. 07, 2013, 12 p.m. (ET)
Raymond Martin and Tatyana McFadden
Raymond Martin and Tatyana McFadden have been honored by the United States Olympic Committee for their historic individual performances at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee Athletics World Championships in Lyon, France.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Top performances throughout July earned Paralympic track & field athletes Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Md.) and Raymond Martin (Jersey City, N.J.) Athlete of the Month recognition, while the men's doubles tennis team of Bob Bryan (Sunny Isles Beach, Fla.) and Mike Bryan (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) received Team of the Month honors, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

McFadden etched her name in the history books when she became the first woman to win six world championships in the same year at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee Athletics World Championships, held July 20-28 in Lyon, France. McFadden claimed titles in the women's T54 100-, 200-, 400-, 800-, 1,500- and 5,000-meters, including gold medals in the 100 and 1,500 on the same day. McFadden was never defeated in any portion of the competition - preliminaries or finals. To conclude her historic meet, McFadden also set a world record time of 1:44.44 in the 800. 

Martin became the first man to win five world titles at the 2013 IPC Athletics World Championships. Only 19 years old, Martin went undefeated at the event, winning the men's T52 100, 200, 400, 800 and 1,500. His victories in Lyon came only 10 months after he swept all four of the T52 races at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. 

 Bob and Mike Bryan, the all-time winningest doubles team in tennis history and No. 1 doubles team in the world, captured the 'Golden Slam' after winning the doubles title at the 2013 Wimbledon Championships, held June 29-July 7 in London. With the win, the Bryan brothers became the first men's doubles team in the Open-era to hold all four major titles (Wimbledon, French Open, Australian Open and U.S. Open), along with an Olympic gold medal. The win marked the Bryan brothers' 15th Grand Slam title and 91st team title, and extends their winning streak to 24 matches, dating back to April. 

 Swimming's Haley Anderson (Granite Bay, Calif.) and cycling's Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo.) earned second and third place in the female vote. On the men's side, basketball's Aaron Gordon (San Jose, Calif.) finished runner-up, while cycling's Sean Gaian (Santee, Calif.) claimed third. The U.S. men's track & field 400-meter relay team T42-46 finished second in the team competition, while the U.S. Men's U19 World Championship Basketball Team rounded out the voting in third. 

Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. A voting panel selects the winners from the pool of nominees with online fan voting via Twitter accounting for 10 percent of the total vote. 


  1. Tatyana McFadden, Paralympic Track & Field 
  2. Haley Anderson, Swimming 
  3. Mara Abbott, Cycling 


  1. Raymond Martin, Paralympic Track & Field 
  2. Aaron Gordon, Basketball 
  3. Sean Gaian, Cycling 


  1. Bob and Mike Bryan, Tennis
  2. U.S. Men's 400-meter Relay Team T42-46, Paralympic Track & Field 
  3. U.S. Men's U19 World Championship Team, Basketball