Tatyana McFadden wins Boston Marathon

By U.S. Paralympics | April 15, 2013, 11:30 a.m. (ET)

American Tatyana McFadden won the women's wheelchair race at the Boston Marathon today in a time of 1 hour, 45 minutes and 25 seconds, marking the first time since 2005 that United States athletes have claimed consecutive women’s titles.

Shirley Reilly, who won the title last year before claiming the marathon gold at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, finished fourth with a time of 1:52.19. Switzerland’s Sandra Graf (1:46.54) was second with Amanda McGrory was third in a time of 1:49.19.

Krige Schabort was the top U.S. finisher in the men’s wheelchair race. The 2012 U.S. Paralympian, who previously competed for South Africa, was ninth overall with a time of 1:31.47.

Japan's Hiroyuki Yamamoto sprinted to an early lead and cruised to the title. Yamamoto the race in a time of 1:25.33 seconds, a minute and 39 seconds ahead of runner up and nine-time champion, Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa.