2010 U.S. Paralympics Road Cycling National Championships roll off to a competitive start

June 24, 2010, 11:47 a.m. (ET)

Colorado Springs, Colo.,-  2010 U.S. Paralympics Road Cycling National Championships pedaled off to a great start on Tuesday in Bend, Ore.  A total of nine races took place, with 39 athletes competing in the events. 

In the men’s Blind/Visually Impaired classification, Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.) both finished with a time of 1:28:47.30.  In the men’s hand cycling H1/H2 category, first place finisher Mathew Updike (Denver, Colo.) clocked a time of 1:17:57.50.  In the men’s H3/H4 division, Dane Pilon (Fayetteville, N.C.) pedaled to a time of 1:14:19.50, which was nine minutes faster than any of the other competitors. 

The men’s C4/C5 race was one of the most competitive of the day with all six cyclists finishing in less than twenty seconds of one another.  Sam Kavanagh (Bozeman, Mont.) was the winner in that race with a time of 1:19:57.50.  Michael Farrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)  clocked a time of 1:10:51.20 in the men’s C1/ C2/C3 race, giving him a first place finish.

The women’s playing field held a smaller number of participants but proved to be fiercely competitive.  Sarah Max (Bend, Ore.) and Rachael Scdoris (Bend, Ore.) both finished with a time of 1:36:36.10 in the women’s division of the Blind/Visually Impaired race.   In the women’s hand cycling race for classes H1-H4, Carly Waugh (Knoxville, Tenn.) came a way with a first place finish of 1:19:55.10. 

 Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) won the women’s C1/C2/ C3 race clocking a time of 1:12:53.50.  In the women’s C4/C5 race, Paralympian Greta Neimanas (Colorado Springs, Colo.) secured a first place finish with a time of 1:25:06.80. 

In Wednesday's competition the criterium races took place with 12 athletes competing.  Sam Kavanagh was crowned the national champion, taking home the gold in the men's criterium. Joseph Berenyi (Oswego, Ill.) was the silver medalist, and Aaron Trent (Columbia, S.C.) took home the bronze. In the women's criterium, Greta Neimanas won the gold making her the national champion, while Allison Jones followed up with silver.

For complete results please visit: http://www.usacycling.org/results/index.php?permit=2010-1529.

For images from day 1 of competition please visit:  http://usparalympics.org/multimedia/photo_gallery_index/1692#gallery-header.

For images from day 2 of competition please visit:

 The Paralympic portion of the USA Cycling 2010 Road Nationals continues through Thursday, June 24.