U.S. goalball teams set for world championships

June 18, 2010, 2:49 p.m. (ET)
The U.S. Men’s and Women’s National Goalball Teams are heading to Sheffield, England to compete in the highly anticipated International Blind Sports Association (IBSA) Goalball World Championships. The United Kingdom, for the first time, will host the Championships from June 18th through the 25th.
For more than 60 years, Goalball has evolved into the premier sport for athletes who are blind and visually impaired internationally.  It’s fast paced, physically challenging and exciting for participants and spectators alike. 
Twenty eight Goalball teams will compete in the championships and is one of three opportunities to qualify for the 2012 London Paralympic Games by placing in the top three. Goalball is one of 22 Paralympic sports played by the blind and visually impaired. The Paralympics are the second largest sporting event in the world, second only to the Olympics.
The U.S. Women’s team is prepared to defend their gold medal they won in the 2006 World Championships and the 2008 Paralympic Games. The Men’s team is ready to reclaim their medal winning performance from the 2006 World Championships.
“The team is healthy and confident heading into Sheffield,” said Women’s Coach Ken Armbruster. “With the parity of women’s goalball internationally, we will be tested every game. Right now nine of the twelve teams have a legitimate chance of winning the championship.  Whichever team can put together six solid days of goalball will win it.”
On the Men’s side, “We are expecting to medal so we can qualify for the London games in 2012,” said Men’s Coach Mike Lege’. “We have an excellent team and it is just a matter of putting it together on the floor.”
The World Championships will be broadcast by Bill Teale and the Audio Network. You can follow all the action at http://pressakey.net/wc2010/
U.S. Men’s National Team
Andy Jenks, Wilmington, DE
Chris Dodds, Salt Lake City, UT
Tim Dornbrock, Jacksonville Beach, FL
Joe Hamilton, Sacramento, CA
Tyler Merren, Kalamazoo, MI
Donte Mickens, Tallahassee, FL
Mike Lege’, Head Coach, St. Augustine, FL
Tom Parrigin, Assistant Coach, St. Augustine, FL
U.S. Women’s National Team
Jenifer Armbruster, Colorado Springs, CO/Lakeshore Paralympic Training Center, AL
Nikki Buck, Kalamazoo, MI
Lisa Czechowski, Tucson, AZ
Asya Miller, Colorado Springs, CO/Lakeshore Paralympic Training Center, AL
Robin Theryoung, Colorado Springs, CO
Jordan Walters, Boulder, CO
Ken Armbruster, Head Coach, Colorado Springs, CO
Christy Householter, Assistant Coach, Garland, TX
John Potts, Team Leader, Shiloh, IL