ParaTriathlon National Team Named

May 08, 2009, 5:38 p.m. (ET)

In the summer of 2000, triathlon burst onto the Olympic stage when it made its debut in the sport is on the verge of inclusion in the Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is pleased to announce the 2009 USAT ParaTriathlon National Team.

The squad includes of some of the most accomplished ParaTriathletes in the sport. Leading the list of men are four-time ITU Above-Knee World Champion Matt Perkins, 2008 National and World Champion JP Theberge (below-knee) and 2007 USAT ParaTriathlete of the Year, Aaron Scheidies (blind).

Two-Time ITU World Champion Sarah Reinertsen (above-knee) heads the list of incredible women on the squad, including two-time below-knee ITU Champion, Amy Dodson, two-time ITU silver medalist, Scout Bassett (above-knee) and coming off a serious injury in 2007 that nearly ended her career, "wheelie" sensation April Couglin. 

Rounding out the team are ITU World Championship veterans, Ivonne Mosquera (Blind), Beth Price (2008 "les Autres" World Champion) and George Gallegos (HandCycle), along with promising newcomer, Robin Caruso (upper extremity).

The team also features three wounded service men and women from the Challenged Athletes Foundation's Operation Rebound program: Brandon Erickson (Upper Extremity), Col. Patty Collins (Below Knee) and double amputee, Evan Morgan.  

With high profile races in venues all over the country including South Beach, New York (ParaTriathlon National Championship), Chicago and Malibu, this team looks to strongly make the case for triathlon's official inclusion in the Summer Paralympic Games.

Visit USAT's ParaTriathlon section

ParaTriathlete Bios