U.S. Paralympics Announces 2009 Para-Archery World Championships Team

June 30, 2009, 3 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--U.S. Paralympics is pleased to announce the ten athletes that will be competing at the 2009 Para-Archery World Championships, August 15-24 in the Czech Republic.  The team will be led by two-time Paralympic medalist and 2007 world champion, Jeff Fabry (Tulare, Calif.).  Also on the roster are 2008 U.S. Paralympians Russell Wolfe (Williamsburg, Va.), Joe Bailey (Flushing, Mich.) and T.J. Pemberton (Edmond, Okla.).

On the other end of the spectrum, five athletes will be competing in their very first Para-Archery World Championships.  These athletes are Jonathan Mize (Muncie, Ind.), D'Arce Hess (Nevada City, Calif.), Natalie Wells (Manteca, Calif.), Jerry Shields (Jacksonville, Fla.) and Dugie Denton (Joliet, Mont.).

Rounding out the last spot on the team is Janice Walth (Lodi, Calif.).

"I'm excited to be leading this team. It's a large team with both experienced members and new ones. It's a real team that works together, and that should lead to great results," said head coach Randi Smith (Salt Lake City, Utah). 

Smith will be joined on the coaching staff by assistants Joe Asay (West Valley, Utah) and Paul Miller (Santee, Calif.).