2009 U.S. Paralympics Wheelchair Rugby National Team Named

July 13, 2009, 2:28 p.m. (ET)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.--The 2009 U.S. Paralympics Wheelchair Rugby National Team that will compete at the 2009 International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation Americas Zone Championships in Buenos Aires, Argentina, October 26-31 has been named. 

The team features 2008 Paralympic gold medalists Jason Regier (Denver, Colo.), Nick Springer (Croton, N.Y.) and Chance Sumner (Lakewood, Colo.) and 2004 Paralympic bronze medalist Brent Poppen (Paso Robles, Calif.).  Keri Morgan (St. Louis, Mo.) is the first female athlete named to a U.S. wheelchair rugby national team.

2009 U.S. Wheelchair Rugby National Team
Chuck Aoki (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Clayton Braun (O'Fallon, Mo.)
Chad Cohn (Tucson, Ariz.)
Rob Deller (Lebanon, Pa.)
Derrick Helton (Tucson, Ariz.)
Lee Mercado (Pomona, Calif.)
Kerri Morgan (St. Louis, Mo.)
Brent Poppen (Paso Robles, Calif.)
Jason Regier (Denver, Colo.)
Adam Scaturro (Lakewood, Colo.)
Nick Springer (Croton, N.Y.)
Chance Sumner (Lakewood, Colo.)

Jace Beck (College Station, Texas)
Joe Delagrave (St. Paul, Minn.)
Ryan Lindstrom (Brandon, Fla.)
Scott Stokes (Atlanta, Ga.)
Max Woodbury (Portland, Ore.)

James Gumbert - Head Coach
Dave Ceruti - Assistant Coach
Patty Cornelius - Team Leader
Kris Gratias - Athletic Trainer
Bob Murray - Personal Care Attendant
Gary Pate - Personal Care Attendant
Don King - Equipment Manager