Para-cyling road World Championships team announced

Aug. 07, 2009, 10:22 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--Six women and eight men have been selected to represent the United States at the 2009 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships, which will be held in Bogogno, Italy from September 7-14.


The women's squad is comprised of the same group that competed at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing and won five medals on the road.

The men's team features four Beijing Paralympians, including three medalists, and four athletes making their first appearance at the road world championships.


2009 UCI Para-Cycling Road World Championships Team


Barbara Buchan (Bend, Ore.)
Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Greta Neimanas (Chicago, Ill.)
Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.)
Karissa Whitsell (Eugene, Ore.) and pilot Mackenzie Woodring (Grand Rapids, Mich.)


Alejandro Albor (Elk Grove, Calif.)
Mike Farrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md.) and pilot Dave Swanson (Tucson, Ariz.)
David Randall (Mansfield, Ohio)
Oz Sanchez (San Diego, Calif.)
Craig Vogstberger (Kalamazoo, Mich.)
Anthony Zahn (Riverside, Calif.)