U.S. PARALYMPICS: Athletes Nominated for 2008 U.S. Paralympics Swimming Team

April 06, 2008, 1 a.m. (ET)
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 6, 2008 MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -The U.S. Olympic Committee's Paralympics division announced today the 38 swimming athletes (20 male and 18 female) that have been nominated to represent the U.S. at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing. U.S. Paralympics Team Head Coach Julie O'Neill said the team includes incredible athletes and will be competitive in Beijing."We have an incredible group of athletes nominated to this team. This group has the potential to be the best swimming team that the USA has fielded to a major international event,"said O'Neill."The men's team is strong and includes several young up-and-coming athletes. Our women's team will be very dominant in Beijing and has numerous multiple-medalist candidates."2008 U.S. Paralympics Swimming Team Roster WOMEN Cheryl Angelelli-Kornoelje (Fraser, Mich.) Kelley Becherer (Sheboygan, Wis.) Aimee Bruder (Birmingham, Ala.) Anna Eames (Golden Valley, Minn.) Amanda Everlove (Wichita, Kan.) Deb Gruen (Hamden, Conn.) Casey Johnson (Cypress, Calif.) Cortney Jordan (Henderson, Nev.) April Kerley (Loveland, Ohio) Beth Kolbe (Tiffin, Ohio) Jessica Long (Baltimore, Md.) Marin Morrison (Sammamish, Wash.) Ashley Owens (Stockbridge, Ga.) Erin Popovich (Silverbow, Mont.) Susan Beth Scott (Cape Girardeau, Mo.) Melissa Stockwell (Colorado Springs, Colo.) Elizabeth Stone (Grand Rapids, Mich.) Miranda Uhl (Alachua, Fla.) MEN Kendall Bailey (San Diego, Calif.) Mark Barr (Davis, Calif.) Cody Bureau (Latrobe, Pa.) Michael DeMarco (San Diego, Calif.) Dave Denniston (Longmont, Colo.) Alex Dionne (Mequon, Wis.) Tucker Dupree (Raleigh, N.C.) Evans, Grover (Little Rock, Ark.) Rudy Garcia-Tolson (Riverside, Calif.) Lantz Lamback (Augusta, Ga.) Curtis Lovejoy (Atlanta, Ga.) Joe McCarthy (San Diego, Calif.) Tom Miazga (Cedarburg, Wis.) Aaron Paulson (Portland, Ore.) Roy Perkins (Del Mar, Calif.) Jarrett Perry (Wichita, Kan.) Michael Prout (West Springfield, Mass.) Philip Scholz (Mt. Sinai, N.Y.) Joe Wise (Menlo Park, Calif.) Justin Zook (Plymouth, Minn.) STAFF PCA- Helen Evans (Little Rock, Ark.) Assistant Coach- Peggy Ewald (Tiffin, Ohio) Team Leader - Jimi Flowers (Colorado Springs, Colo.) Assistant Coach- Keith Kennedy (Toledo, Ohio) PCA- Nancy Morrison (Sammamish, Wash.) Assistant Team Leader- Queenie Nichols (Cleveland, N.Y.) Head Coach - Julie O'Neill (Colorado Springs, Colo.) Assistant Coach- Dave Thomas (Colorado Springs, Colo.) Assistant Coach- Kiko VanZandt (Seattle, Wash.) For all inquiries or for more information about the competition, please contact Beth Bourgeois, U.S. Paralympics, at (719)866-2039 or beth.bourgeois@usoc.org.