Paralympic track & field athletes, men's eight rowing team capture U.S. Olympic Committee's May awards

June 14, 2012, 1:37 p.m. (ET)

Tatyana McFadden at the 2011 IPC World Championships.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Paralympic track & field athletes Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Md.) and Jeremy Campbell (Perryton, Texas) garnered Athlete of the Month honors, while the men's eight rowing team was named Team of the Month for May, the United States Olympic Committee announced today.

Over the course of three events - including a world cup and the Swiss Series of Wheelchair Racing -McFadden went undefeated in nine races. She set a new American record in the 100-meter race and led an American sweep in the 400-meter world cup event. In the events, ranging from 100- to 1500-meter competitions, McFadden defeated some of the top female wheelchair athletes in the world.

Campbell set a new world record in the men's discus, throwing 62.14 meters (203-10) at the world cup in Manchester, England. He became the first Paralympic athlete to throw over 200 feet. At the world cup, Campbell once again met Britain's Daniel Greaves, who edged out Campbell's former world record after the Beijing Games. This time, Campbell came out on top, demolishing the old record by an incredible four meters. Since then, Campbell has bested his own world-leading mark.

The U.S. men's eight team qualified for the 2012 Olympic Games after a big victory at the 2012 Final Olympic Qualification Regatta on May 22 in Lucerne, Switzerland. The team crossed the line in 5:36.11, nearly four seconds over second-place finisher New Zealand. Zach Vlahos (Piedmont, Calif.), Grant James (DeKalb, Ill.), David Banks (Potomac, Md.), Steve Kasprzyk (Cinnaminson, N.J.), Jake Cornelius (Brooktondale, N.Y.), Brett Newlin (Riverton, Wyo.), Ross James (DeKalb, Ill.), Will Miller (Duxbury, Mass.) and Giuseppe Lanzone (Annandale, Va.) comprise the London-bound team.

Three water polo entries also garnered recognition. Tony Azevedo (Long Beach, Calif.) and the U.S. Women's National Water Polo Team finished runner-up in the male and team vote, while Maggie Steffens (Danville, Calif.) placed third in the female vote. Discus thrower Stephanie Brown-Trafton (Galt, Calif.) placed second in the female competition, while diver Chris Colwill (Brandon, Fla.) was third on the men's side. Tennis duo Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) rounded out the voting, finishing third in the team category.

Each National Governing Body may nominate one female, one male and one team per discipline. A voting panel selects the winners from the pool of nominees with online fan voting via Twitter accounting for 10 percent of the total vote.

1.Tatyana McFadden, Paralympic Track & Field
2. Stephanie Brown-Trafton, Track & Field
3. Maggie Steffens, Water Polo

1. Jeremy Campbell, Paralympic Track & Field
2. Tony Azevedo, Water Polo
3. Chris Colwill, Diving

1. Men's Eight, Rowing
2. U.S. Women's National Team, Water Polo
3.Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, Tennis