Michael Trussell

USA Roller Sports

Michael Trussell

PERSONAL HIGHLIGHTS

Team USA Years:   2006-2007(U23) 2010, 2013

Hometown:   Salt Lake City                         

Current residence:   Salt Lake City

Personal website/social media pages

When did you begin playing hockey:

3-4yrs old as soon as I was big enough to skate, my dad gave me a stick.

Current skating club/ Coaches name:   Salt Lake City Highlanders, My Coach and Personal Trainer is Jimmy Trussell

Are you sponsored and if so, by whom:   My  parents are my biggest sponsors ( :

Occupation, current employer:  TKJ Inc

EDUCATION HIGHLIGHTS

High school attended:  Taylorsville High School  

Year of graduation:   2007

Location of high school:   Salt Lake City, UT

Sports you competed in while in high school (include number of years):

4yrs of Soccer

Other high school activities:

College attended:  Salt Lake Community College

Year of graduation:  2013

Degree/major:   Associates of Science

Sports you competed in while in college (include number of years):

Cycling 4 Seasons

Mountain Biking 4 season

Other college activities

ACCOMPLISHMENT HIGHLIGHTS

Olympic Experience: 0

Pan American/World Games/International Experience:

2 MensWorld Championships

1 U23 World Championships

USA Team Member- Portugal

USA Team Member- France

Team USA hockey awards, honors and statistics:

1st Place Mens World “B” Championships South Africa

Other awards, honors, and statistics in hockey:

2nd Place 2013 Rink Hockey Nationals

Team USA Team Member 2011

Team USA U23 Team member 2006-2007

Other sports you currently participate in:

I am big into Cycling which is my biggest form of cross training. I also Mountain Bike and Rock Climb on a regular basis and really enjoy playing Chess

Other awards and/or honors received outside of hockey:

GOAL HIGHLIGHTS

Life Goals:

My goals are to finish College and to move back to Italy for a few years. After that I suppose just whatever life has to offer.

Career goals:

My Career goals will be formed around my life goals. I have no specific profession in mind.

Future goals you hope to obtain as a hockey player:

It would be awesome to play for a professional team in Europe. While I am still young and able, I would take the first chance I get to experience playing hockey at the highest level.

FAVORITES SPOTLIGHT

Favorite sports figure: I don’t have a favorite sports figure. If id have to choose one I’d probably choose my dad. He accomplished a lot as a hockey player and has great integrity.

Favorite food before a competition: Steal Cut Oats

Favorite movie:  Megamind animated movies are the best, no doubt

Favorite place to shop:  As a college student shopping does not happen often, but id say the grocery store. Food day is the best day

Favorite music to listen to during training or competition:   It varies from day to day. I usually like mewithoutyou but I like to mix it up.

Favorite possession:

My bicycles

Favorite hobbies: C ycling Hockey, Rock Climbing, drinking coffee, Chess… anything that deals with being outside, Skiing

If you could pick one word to describe you, what would it be:  Outgoing

What makes you a unique and special person: I think my personality makes me unique

Who is the person you most admire/greatest influence in your life and why:

My Parents for sure, They have both accomplished so much. My dad played 9yrs of pro hockey and my mother, an Italian native who got a PH.D from the University of Utah.  The struggles and sacrifice my parents went through to move to the U.S. from Italy and support to five kids, which is not easy, They make it seem effortless and seem to have a great outlook on life, even during the toughest times. They are my biggest supports and biggest fans and I couldn’t ask for better parents

FAMILY HIGHLIGHTS

Father’s name:  James Trussell 

Father’s occupation: GM at Hollywood Connection Family Fun Center

Mother’s name:  Donata Trussell

Mother’s occupation:  PT at the University of Utah Hospital

Brothers: Jared Trussell

Sisters: Nicole, Elaine and Rachel

Spouse’s name(if married):

Children’s name and ages:

Family Members Who Have Competed or Are Competing in Amateur or Professional Athletics: