Savannah Jones

USA Canoe/Kayak


Savannah Jones

Age: 16
Event: Canoe Sprint
Height: 5’8’’
Hometown: Gig Harbor, WA
Club: Gig Harbor Canoe and Kayak Racing Team

High School: Gig Harbor

2013 U.S. Junior World Championships Team Member


2013 Junior World Championships: 4th in Jr. C2 500m with Makenzie Sousley

2013 Pan American Championships: 4th in Jr. C1 500m, SILVER in Jr. C2 200m, SILVER in Jr. C2 500m

At what age did you start paddling and how did you become involved in the sport? 

I started paddling when I was 14.  I often saw the team when I went to the waterfront and it looked interesting. One summer I had lots of free time so I tried it out and never looked back.

Where and when was your first competition, and how did you do?

My first competition was the Pacific Cup at Lake Whannak in British Columbia. I was 14 years old. I achieved my goal of staying in the boat!

What has inspired you to train and compete at an International level?

My parents have always inspired me to do the very best… as long as that’s what I want to do, of course. There isn’t anything much bigger than international competition so here’s where I am.

What is your preference - individual or team boats, and why?

I like both for different reasons. I love being able to work with someone in a team boat. We can make each other better and feel connected. I like C1 because it’s just me and sometimes it is nice to just rely on myself.

What race distance do you prefer, and why?

I love the 200-meter because it is fast and there isn’t any pacing or pickups. Letting everything go as fast as possible is really fun.

What has been your biggest accomplishment(s) in the sport?

The biggest race I’ve been to is Nationals. I earned two golds, three silvers and a bronze.

What is the best advice you have been given and who offered it to you?

My friend and teammate Makenzie Sousley likes to yell, “GO!” at me. My coach, Alan Anderson says, “Finish!” at the end of every race. But the best advice I have received is from my mom. She always tells me to do what I love. So far doing what I love has worked out pretty well.

Tell us about your current training schedule? Describe an average day for you?

We have a water workout every day, usually a gym workout and some running too. I go to school then go down the hill to the harbor and run, then paddle and if we have gym I will do that. After I am finished training I go home, eat, do homework, and go to sleep.

What do you do for fun and relaxation?

Whenever I am outside I am happy. I like to ski, hike, climb trees, and take pictures.

What would you like to do after your Canoe/Kayak career is over?

I have no idea. I guess I’m planning on having an epiphany one day.

What is your favorite thing about the sport of Canoe/Kayak?  Do you have any special memory that you would like to share?

I love so many things about this sport. It is incredibly challenging and rewarding. I have made so many awesome friends and met really interesting people. The second thing, after the coolness of canoeing that intrigued me was the opportunity that I have. On my first week of the development team my coach Alan Anderson told me to canoe. I said Ok. I understand why he told me that.

What is your goal for the 2013 season? 

I want to paddle at Jr. Worlds and podium in C2.

What is your dream goal?

I want to see woman canoe added to the Olympics. If it is added in time for me to paddle in it I think I would be the happiest person in the world!

Related Articles

More Stories ›