For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

The United States Olympic Committee created the Best of U.S. awards program in 2014 to recognize outstanding performances from the Olympic and Paralympic Games. All athlete award winners were selected by fan voting, while the USG Building Dreams and Fan of the Games awards were selected by a committee comprised of Olympic and Paralympic family members.

Winners are selected in 10 categories: Best Male/Female Olympian, Best Male/Female Paralympian, Team of the Olympic/Paralympic Games, Moment of the Olympic/Paralympic Games, Fan of the Games and the USG Building Dreams Award, which honors an individual who has gone above and beyond in his/her support of Team USA athletes.

A nominating committee – comprised of USOC, athlete and media representatives – select finalists for the individual athlete and team categories, as well as the Moment of the Games, based on nominations from each National Governing Body.

Sochi 2014 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games
For the Sochi Games, 10 honorees were recognized during a live taping of the inaugural Best of U.S. Awards Show supported by USG, held April 2 at the Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. The awards show featured NBC’s Willie Geist as host.

Best Male Olympian: Sage Kotsenburg (snowboarding)

Best Female Olympian: Erin Hamlin (luge)

Team of the Olympic Games: Meryl Davis and Charlie White (ice dancing)

Moment of the Olympic Games: Noelle Pikus-Pace's medal celebration (skeleton)

Best Male Paralympian: Mark Bathum (alpine skiing)

Best Female Paralympian: Stephanie Jallen, (alpine skiing)

Moment of the Paralympic Games: Stephanie Jallen winning bronze in her first race (alpine skiing)

Fan of the Games: Horace Mann Elementary (West Allis, Wisconsin)

USG Building Dreams Award: Kori Ade (figure skating coach)

For more information on the 2014 Best of U.S. honorees, click here
Photo Gallery