USOC Coach of the Year Program

Each year, the U.S. Olympic Committee honors the best in sport coaching as part of the USOC Coach of the Year Recognition program. Finalists are selected in five categories, including National Coach of the Year, Paralympic National Coach of the Year, Developmental Coach of the Year, Volunteer Coach of the Year and the Doc Councilman Science Award. The finalists must be actively coaching or within one year of retirement to be eligible for the award.

An independent selection panel of coaching and sport education professionals selects national winners in each category. The USOC recognizes each NGB Coach of the Year with a unique award and all National Coaches of the Year are honored by the USOC at an annual ceremony in late spring.

For more information on each of the five categories and to view a complete list of past recipients, visit the award tabs via this page.